Some people believe that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money should be invested better in other areas. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is widely known that the government sometimes put investments in art subjects and people think that the money is not properly used. I partly agree with this view and through this essay, I will shed light on some opinions in these paragraphs. Firstly, there are a lot of aspects that still need investment,especially in basic needs rather than arts. As a nation, the budgets are limited and ministries should put priorities on different aspects. Basic needs that help society to continue their life such as food, accommodations, healthcare facilities and education are some examples that need to be put first. Moreover, the nation also should consider another facility that increases the productivity of the country. Investment in infrastructures like roads, rails, harbours and airports are important for logistics movement and these facilities would require a lot of funds to operate. On the contrary, arts are usually not as important as other basic conditions and some would hardly think about arts when their needs have not been fulfilled. The Public often think that art figures are expensive and this might be true. Statues, pictures and ornaments are usually found in high-class galleries and only a small fraction of the community would like to see them. Therefore, the importance of arts sometimes could not be beneficial for the prosperity of citizens and as a result most of them would criticize the authority if they invested money on not necessary things like arts. In conclusion, the state should prioritize the basic needs of its people and put aside unimportant matters. Such important aspects like nutrition, infrastructure and public services are critical while decorative matters like arts would not satisfy the public needs.