Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss the two views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the opinion that studying past history is useless today, but others believe it is very essential to know history to better understand the present. I intend to discuss both sides of the argument in this essay. I believe that there is a lot to gain through the study of history and it is far from useless. On the one hand, the main reason given by those opposed to the study of history is that the past was very different from the present, and people cannot apply that knowledge to the present. For example, they say that the French Revolution and the Freedom Struggle of India have no need to be learnt because those situations will never arise again. They say that instead of digging into the past, people should focus on the present and the future. On the other hand, there are reasons why some believe that the study of history is of value even today. Studying past history can enable us to better understand what is going on around us. For example, the relevant knowledge of history would tell us how people progressed and reached where they are today. Secondly, history can serve us as a guide because of which people would not repeat the mistakes of yesteryears. People also get inspiration from the great men of the past throughout history. I believe that the study of history is imperative for everyone, even for professionals, such as architects and accountants. They would be better in their professions if they know something about the history of architecture or accountancy. What is more, even if the freedom struggle and the French Revolution would not come again, this knowledge makes people realize the importance of liberty and self-governance. So, studying the past can never be a waste of time. To sum up, studying past history can not only deepen and widen people's knowledge but also help them develop the power of analysis. Thus, people are able to look at what is happening at present from a historical perspective and better understanding.