Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In many universities located in different regions, science braches have been not preferred by students sufficiently in recent days. This case may be related with technologic developments in engineering branches and lack of science disciplines’ employment rates. This trend would not affect people negatively, but in the long term, many developments may be stopped by inadequate of research and scientists. The cause of this trend may be correlated with increasing interest of engineering and technologies among students. In recent years, developments in artificial intelligence and software have attracted new generations. They have inspired a lot of innovation since their childhood days and they have a chance to examine themselves. For instance, many students start to code in their computers and they develop some basic applications, although they have not gone to university studies. Another reason of this case is low employment rates in scientific jobs. Today, a lot of students carry sceptics in their mind with regard to their future circumstances due to economic issues throughout the world. Many scientists have struggled to find a regular job especially in developing countries while many engineering and social branches have a variety of job opportunities. Thus, they focus to ensure their employment possibilities and they may avoid select these branches. Honestly, this trend would not impact society in short term. People live their life in same standards and the technologies would improve for a while. If many resources will have exploited by developers, the need of research and scientific approach would occur. For example, insufficient food for people or compounds for energy are counted as demanding new research by scientists. Therefore, in long term, graduated scientists remain their importance in future. In conclusion, causes and examples can be multiplied in this case. Although, many students have concrete evidence to avoid these branches, science studies and education always maintain its importance especially in vital situations for humanity.