In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantage?

There is a view that all cars will be equipped with auto-driving systems in the future, so people drive no longer their vehicles themselves. I strongly argue that the upsides of driverless cars outweigh the downsides. I will give my reasons below. To begin with, people who have negative opinions of fully automated vehicles say that a number of drivers who work in public transportation will lose their job. Because taxi users do not need them anymore. When customers get in the car and pay the bill, it will arrive at the destination shortly. Therefore, transportation companies do not have to hire drivers. Recent research showed that after self-driving automation technology was introduced in the automobile industry, researchers predicted the unemployment rate of drivers will be going up to 5%. However, there is a more positive side to replacing drivers with driverless automobiles. People who could not go somewhere alone are able to move freely themselves. Before the technology was developed, blind and physically handicapped people could not drive a car, for example they cannot reach the gas pedal. They always needed drivers instead of them in order to go out with vehicles. Yet, with the self-driving system they can go everywhere by themselves without help. A survey answered by physically disabled people showed that their quality of life has dramatically increased thanks to the new technology. To sum up, although there will be a lot of drivers who will be fired, the happiness of people who could not move freely will be significantly rose. Therefore, I would say that driverless vehicles have more benefits than drawbacks for disabled people.