Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Recent years have witnessed an increasing amount of garbage. From my perspective, the reasons are multidimensional, and the government is obliged to take some steps to resolve this problem. The root causes of this phenomenon are various. To begin with, it is tightly associated with the development of a variety of industries. During the production process, there will be inevitably a waste of materials and some imperfect products. In order to improve efficiency, workers have the predisposition to throw them away, which is one of the culprits of a huge amount of rubbish. Apart from that, with the influence of advertisements, modern citizens are willing to follow the latest trend and even espouse the supremacy of consumerism, thereby constantly purchasing new-released items. In that case, the individuals tend to regard their old stuff as obsolete, and those items will end up being put into the rubbish bins. However, those problems are far from insurmountable and several feasible methods can be taken. Firstly, the government can enhance the enforcement of relevant laws and legislations, which can supervise the industries to recycle their raw materials or defective goods. Under such circumstances, there will be a plunge in the amount of rubbish in the foreseeable future. Secondly, public advertisements concerning environmental protection can be funded by the local government, as they can raise the public's awareness of protecting the natural environment. On realizing the significance of environmental protection, the masses can nurture a habit of recycling and be less likely to spend money on unnecessary stuff. Therefore, the amount of rubbish produced by citizens will decrease to a large extent. In conclusion, the causes of an increment in the amount of rubbish are manifold, but the government can shoulder their responsibility and take effective measures to reduce its amount.