Children's education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Most people spend a lot of money on education, as they think that higher education will widen their opportunities in both finance and society. In some countries, the government supports some or all of the educational fees, and I personally think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. The advantages of the government supporting the costs of education, first of all, it reduces household expenses. In families with more than one child, schooling can cost one-quarter of their expenses compared to their incomes. For example, in Thailand, it is not only the tuition fee that the parents need to pay, but also the uniforms and stationery. So, with the support from authorities, the people can have some spare money, which can be spent on their nutrition and accommodation. Moreover, this can also enhance an equality in education for everyone. It should be one of the fundamental bases provided by the government, which means no matter how rich or poor their families are, they totally have a right to get a primary schooling with similar programs conducted in their schools. However, there is a disadvantage to this, which is that the populace might need to pay higher taxes because it is counted as one of the government's incomes. Then, for them to be able to support, implement or proceed with any policies and welfare, they need a large amount of money. For instance, in Australia, the authorities support households in many ways; schooling, aged care, and Medicare. For this reason, their people pay 30%-50% tax on their income. In conclusion, in my opinion, schooling should be supported by the government due to the benefits of household expense reduction and equality in education. However, there is still the disadvantage, which is a tax increase.