Health services are a basic necessity for a person. Private companies have made health services quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

In a capitalist society, privatisation will permeate into every sector, including health services. With an increasing number of private clinics emerging, people have started complaining about their exorbitant prices. Despite these disadvantages, I would argue that it possesses the indispensable function of alleviating the pressure of large-scale hospitals. Although the passage contrives to defend private medical organisations, it is undeniable that the complaint of high prices is well founded. According to research conducted by Tsinghua University, for example, in China, the single expense of private dental clinics was higher than that in public hospitals by 30% in 2016, which even further increased to 35% in 2019. Based on these statistics, it is reasonable to assume that private health care will charge more than public hospitals, and this is precisely the point for which ordinary people have criticised private clinics. However, this disadvantage does not prevent private medical organisations from playing irreplaceable roles in the medical sector, which was particularly remarkable during COVID-19. Then the sudden influx of patients overwhelmed China's medical system, while a rapid increase in accommodation was unaffordable and also impossible. It was in the dilemma, that alarge number of private clinics actively assumed patient triage, treating the patients with mild symptoms to reduce the pressure of the public hospitals. Without these clinics which have often been devalued as mere instruments for earning money, the situation during COVID-19 could have been worse. In light of this, I believe that private clinics are an indispensable complement to public hospitals, and their exorbitant prices cannot erase their contributions to public health. In summary, although private health care has often been criticised for its charge beyond expectation, it plays an essential role in maintaining the operation of medical systems when undergoing medical crises. Hence, the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages.