Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic is cheaper in cost, easily available in the market and has long life. These features increase its usage. However, without any doubt, it is clear that it harms our environment enormously for soil, water and air. In this essay, I will elaborate on its negative impact on our natural resources and life. As well as the best possible way to overcome it. To begin with, plastic is not biodegradable, it takes hundreds of years to decompose which decreases soil fertility and limits farmland area. Chemicals make plastic. when these chemicals find their way to water bodies, they create water pollution. As a result, it harms coral reefs and aquatic animals. For instance, every year thousand of marine endangered species lose their life. They are entangled by plastic bags and chemical water which stops their respiratory system. In addition, as a cure to decrease plastic usage, concerned authorities and an individual should take one step forward. Although, people understand that plastic causes various pollution to our environment, they use plastic bags and bottles. Here, the government can start a public awareness campaign to educate the public and remind them that Its time when people need to carry glass bottles and bags made from biodegradable materials like jute bags instead of using disposable glass, cutlery and bags made from plastic. In Addition, concerned governing bodies can levy hefty taxes on plastic materials to make them expensive compared to other biodegradable products. Despite, approving company registration for harmful chemical manufacturers, they can bane such companies and strict laws require. To summarise, there is no debate whether our environment is at risk or not due to plastic. But I strongly believe that one day, our motherland will be plastic -free with the joint efforts of authorities and the local public.