Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern life, supermarkets owned by global corporations have started to open their branches in small areas, for example in mountain villages,and local markets have lost their customers. In my opinion, local businesses and communities will suffer a lot from this economic development and may lose their traditions and way of life. First, supermarkets haven't variety as traditional stores and offer lower prices for the same product. As a result, shoppers are visiting malls to shop, while local markets are closing their doors. Another reason why traditional businesses are affected by large companies is the lack of advertising. That is, local stores depend on returning customers and cannot attract new ones through television or internet advertising. Take as an example, supermarkets can buy expensive commercials and then they attract people to visit them. While local markets remain in the dark. Second, the opening of supermarkets can benefit local producers by supplying their products and selling them locally. In other words, these corporations can contract with local farmers to provide their customers with fresh, local produce. In this way, supermarkets can help communities develop. In addition, new supermarket branches help create new jobs for local residents, this helps individuals who need work. However, many corporations do not have the advantage of local residents. Instead, they only care about profit. In conclusion, in my opinion the disappearance of local markets is mainly due to the uncontrolled development of new shopping centres. In addition, we need to put more pressure on the government to introduce new policies that will help traditional businesses survive.