In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people believe that young children should be raised with the value that achievement can be reached if they try hard enough. This essay will elaborate on the benefits and drawbacks of that principle. First and foremost, the main advantage of that value, parents educate the kids about the meaning of process and struggle in life. Children will know that everything is not an instant process, especially if we want to be successful in the future. Taking an example, parents can encourage kids to have additional study time after school if the children want to have high scores and to be outstanding as students. Furthermore, this value also can inspire kids to set goals in their life, be optimistic person, be eager and be the independent person to reach their goals. As an illustration, if the children want to have a certain toy, the person can encourage them to save some of the children ’s money to buy the toys. So that, the kids know how to do to reach the goal independently. On the other hand, the principle will bring some consequences as the negatives. Firstly, the children might be too ambitious with their goals and not really enjoy with their childhood time which could not be repeated. Giving an example, youngsters who are too ambitious with their study goals will not have time to explore their hobbies through leisure activities because they have no leisure time to play but just focus on studying. Secondly, the kids might look down on unfortunate people as someone who is lazy because they are not successful. Children will become less empathetic to view the poverty problem. For instance, parents tell their children that homeless people are those who do not want to study hard and have no degree, thus they cannot earn money. To conclude, the advantages of the value are about educating children about the meaning of the process and setting their life goals. However, the disadvantages can make kids too ambitious and less empathetic to unfortunate people.