Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Is it not a gruesome reality that nowadays every essential thing comes in packaging with more or half of plastic chunk.? Being made up of non-biodegradable material, it is harmful not only to the soil but also to the environment. Therefore, the several damages done by plastic things would be discussed in looming paragraphs. Commencing with the root cause of manufacturing artificial waste, it would not be wrong to say that people demand polyethylene carry bags because it is cheap and easy to carry. Although, citizens are aware of the fact that these products take long years to decompose unless they still prefer them. Moreover, the soil loses its fertility and even some chemicals get added up to the land. This accumulated garbage disturbs the ecological balance of the environment and if these things are consumed by the seaside animals, it can be a reason for their death. A survey conducted by Reuters in 2018 depicts that earlier the ratio of illiteracy was 80% whereas the level of accumulated waste was only 30% but now the percentage has been reversed. Apart from this, lawmakers can take several steps to control the future like banning carry bags made up of plastic. Additionally, they can impose laws like if any merchant is seen selling or using these harmful bags, that individual has to pay some money as a fine. Despite being warned, if someone does the same mistake more than 3 times then that person should be put behind bars for some months. In addition to this, the vendors can start using jute bags or reusable bags. Furthermore, a campaign should be organized and people should be made aware of the long-term side effects of these products. Areas near the sea or ocean should impose strict rules regarding the usage of this molded waste. In a nutshell, this Earth is ours and if our today is safe then only one can think of the future. Saving or losing a life is completely in our hands. If the lawmakers take certain steps and impose the laws stated above and citizens follow those rules from their hearts then there would be no better place to live and eventually, It would lead to a socially stable and environmentally prosperous life.