Some people argue that technological interventions such as mobile phones are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology has brought significant changes to our lives. Yet, there remain arguments as to whether its overall impact has been positive or negative. Although there are some arguments to the contrary in terms of diminishing social interactions, I believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, technology has revolutionized the way the population communicate. Despite social isolation, occasionally seen in people who spend excessive amounts of time using computers rather than relating to folk in the world, we have driven enormous benefits from utilizing communication software such as email and Whatsapp. These incredible tools of communication have facilitated contact with both loved ones in faraway places and international trade. Everyone around the globe is, in recent times, capable of socializing from wherever and whenever they wish to, by merely having access to the Internet connection. Moreover, through social media platforms, individuals are able to form friendships with hundreds of people who share similar interests in that they are now significantly more socially active compared with their counterparts who lived in earlier times. Facebook, for instance, provide students with the opportunity to keep in contact with their peers, something which has been virtually impossible a few decades ago. Admittedly, not all the effects of modern technological advancement had been positive. It is true that one now has several friends on various social applications yet their relationships may remain superficial. As such, some claim technology is to be blamed for one's diminishing interaction activities. They argue, that interactions between individuals are now confined to posting positive aspects of one life and they are reluctant to talk about the obstacles faced throughout life. However, in my opinion, this argument is not compelling in that iterations are now more intimate by constantly sharing their achievements and interests and commenting friends` posts. In conclusion, I believe, not only have people been more socially active, but also they have more intimate and excellent interactions thanks to the impacts technology had on our communication.