Task 2: When asked to choose between a life without work and working most of the time, people would always choose not to work. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a highly debatable topic that people want to opt out of working rather than devote nearly all of their time to a career. The writer of this essay, while acknowledging the mental benefits that not working can have, disagrees with the statement due to the unstable life and the will to contribute to society. It should be noted that choosing not to work can lead to an unstable life. This is because, in the modern world, money is only given according to the contribution of the workers to the company, so those who are unemployed cannot rely on this method to earn a living. They have to depend on other sources of passive income, such as allowances from family or money from charity organizations and the government. As a result, their life would be fully dependent on others, rendering them unstable and unsustainable. Granted, individuals may have the desire to lead their life without any work. They contend that as their time is finite, more of it should be spent on entertainment as a way to enjoy life. Thus, instead of spending hours in front of a computer screen every day, they opt for memorable experiences, which may include long trips around the world or spending more time with family and friends. However, the aspect of entertainment in today’s world also requires money, which is not readily available for those who choose not to work. Another point worth considering is that humans have the tendency to contribute to their groups. In other words, people in a society know that they receive many benefits, such as education opportunities, employment and basic services from the government, and therefore feel the need to give back to the community. This can create a passive responsibility and motivation that prevents them from being idle. Take Norway as a prime example, where high social contributions are derived from all the incentive schemes made by the local councils. Taking all points into account, although the factor of entertainment can be considered, it is not as determining as the risk of an unstable growth and the desire to give back to the nation. Hence, it should have been shown that people are more likely to prioritize a working life over an idle one.