Some people believe that it is wrong for professional athletes to compete in the Olympics because their strong financial backing and training give them an unfair advantage over the other athletes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A certain section of people believes that the Olympic competition between professional athletes versus the other athletes, who do not have access to financial resources and coaching, is unjustified. I do not align with this thought due to an array of reasons pointed out below. Firstly, a competition, be it national or state or school, is a challenge that does not consider the background of an individual. If a sportsperson has the monetary resources for getting training then it is to his advantage but that does not solely lead to his or her success. To add to that, there are many individuals trained under the best coaches and have failed miserably to build a successful career. Consider an example of a child studying under a mentor who does not excel compared to the one who does self-study and works really hard. Who is going to succeed in this case? Secondly, in my opinion, the determination and passion of a sports individual play a prominent role in shaping his or her success. For instance, if you observe one of the greatest soccer players of all time, Cristiano Ronaldo did not have either financial support or guidance from a coach but undoubtedly, he is considered to be one of the greatest to ever grace the game of soccer. This goes on to say that working diligently towards your goals without expecting results and putting in more than a hundred per cent every single time is the secret sauce to the success of these legendary sports individuals. To summarise, an athlete's success is not bound to monetary support or training and is solely dependent on diligence, persistence and dedication. Hence in my opinion, one should not judge a person's capacity merely by means of the resources he or she possesses and should allow them to compete with other competitors in contentious competitions like the Olympics.