Some people think children have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It seems natural and reasonable for parents to serve as a protector and guide for their youngsters, shielding them from missteps. However, as important as this may be, overprotection can sometimes hinder the development of essential life skills. On the one hand, keeping children from committing mistakes is essentially protecting them from potential negative consequences associated with these mistakes. Mistakes made at a young age can result in serious mental or physical damages, which include using tools without supervision, ignorance of road safety, or even addiction to drugs or alcohol. In other situations, mistakes mean bad life choices. With their carefree and playful nature, young people can be easily tempted to drop out of school, unaware of its repercussions on their future. Hence, adults should intervene and prevent children from making mistakes as much as possible. On the other hand, making mistakes is one of the most valuable lessons for children. For one thing, although making mistakes is an inevitable part of adult life, not all adults are capable of handling them in a healthy and productive way. Being allowed to make mistakes in their early years is a good practice to help children develop the ability to accept their mistakes and learn from them, building up their self-esteem along the way. For another thing, parents’ perception of mistakes is exceedingly subjective, greatly depending on their past experiences. Therefore, instead of shielding children from serious harm and danger, adults may end up depriving them of opportunities to gain precious memories and experiences that can shape their character and prepare them for adulthood. In conclusion, I believe that overprotection can be harmful as it weakens children ’s ability to accept mistakes and stifles their growth. Too much emphasis on perfectionism can lead to a dull and colorless upbringing.