As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological breakthroughs introduce enormous opportunities to human civilisation in the twenty-first century. Physical publication is going extinct and digital versions are more appealing to the tertiary institutions as a pragmatic replacement. This essay will discuss both the upsides and the pitfalls as I wholeheartedly argue that overall, this is a beneficial trend for several reasons. On the one hand, this extraordinarily advantageous trajectory will not only result in the preservation of forests but also will lead to more efficiency. If universities consume fewer paper versions of academic materials then fewer trees are destined to be cut, for example. Furthermore, computers can provide a tremendously higher level of efficiency by incorporating artificial intelligence into their design. Thus, these two aforementioned merits not only preserve the environment but also increase the speed of the academic learning process. On the other hand, digitalisation may not be convenient for everyone and also can cause harm to health which are the drawbacks. If others really cherish the feel, touch and smell of the paper then the digital alternative may not satisfy them, for instance. Moreover, sitting for long hours in front of digital screens is detrimental to the eyes and can bring about other pernicious effects on the body as well. Therefore, older generations are addicted to paper publications and the youngsters are risking devastating deterioration in their health, particularly in their sight, as a result of adoption of alternative technology. In conclusion, unequivocally there are a combination of advantages and downsides in case the tertiary institutions replaced the paper version of textbooks with the modern digital alternatives. Nevertheless, I argue that the harms are infinitesimal when compared to the enormous advantages of digitalisation from protecting wildlife and the rising speed of processing university materials.