Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree with this view?

It is often argued that funding in arts by government is a wastage of money and this could be utilized better if it is expanded in another sector. I completely agree with this statement and think that at first we should fulfil the fundamental rights. Generally speaking, expenditure on art cannot provide much benefit for the people of a country, on the other hand, there are many individuals who cannot meet up with their demands and live below the poverty line. In that case, rather than spending on arts, we should focus on people's lifestyle, in order to ensure them a prosperous life. For example, Bangladesh is a developing and poor country, whose majority of citizens are destitute in number. So if it focuses on arts, the inhabitants of this country will have to starve. Moreover, there is another reason why I support this idea. To illustrate this, in my perspective, the government should spend its budget in educational programs than spending in arts. We all know that education is the backbone of a nation. That's why, we should try our best to educate the illiterates because in many countries, thousands of peoples doesn't get the opportunity to study and as a result, they remain in darkness, which is regarded as a curse for that country. On the contrary, art is a form of entertainment. I think we cannot ignore people's basic rights like education and give priority to arts, as entertainment is just a desire, not a need. To conclude, I strongly believe that there are many significant things like the removal of illiteracy and poverty rather than source of enjoyment. That's why, in my opinion, the government must notice needs not luxury and it is the reason to support the given statement.