It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few say that cars and Government buses should not be allowed in the urban centres and only bicycles be permitted. This essay completely agrees with this statement because banning four-wheelers and Government-sponsored bus services from operating inside city centres will decrease air pollution and using bicycles in place of them will lead to less congested roads. On the one hand, most of the pollutants which render city air unhealthy are released by cars, and buses operated by city authorities.Restricting their entry inside city centres will increase the quality of air. This will lead to fewer diseases like lung cancers and other respiratory ailments. For example, as per one study published in The Times of India.The air quality index of Hyderabad, a city in south India was improved significantly after prohibiting the entry of cars and government buses into the Charminar and its surroundings which is the centre of Hyderabad. On the other hand, promoting the use of bicycles results in reduced traffic on city roads because the fewer big vehicles like buses and cars on the roads the more free the roads will be. This will lead City residents and students to reach their offices and schools on time. For example, in the UAE people travel to their offices and schools from far distances to save on house rent and during peak hours in the morning the roads from the Emirate of Sharjah towards the Emirate of Dubai are filled with heavy traffic. However, after banning cars and buses from these roads, the congestion on roads was reduced during these peak hours also. In conclusion, a ban on cars and government-run buses results in more healthy city air and using bicycles will make city centre roads less congested.