To succeed in business, one needs to learn and know math. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that possessing mathematical knowledge is the key factor for success in business. In my perspective, this opinion is unconvincing to a certain extent. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint. Admittedly, advocates of this notion have pointed out several rational grounds. First, studying mathematics improves the necessary skills for entrepreneurs. To be specific, logical and critical thinking are valuable skills that can be acquired through extensive practice to solve complicated math problems. Businessmen who master both of these competencies are able to make accurate predictions and decisions based on data analysis, whereas those who lack these abilities just rely only on instinct. Second, mathematical theory is an important basis for many specialized aspects of the business. Managers who are numerate find it easier to control the figures in their company's finances via accounting practices and financial analysis. For instance, in the Shark Tank program, a TV show connecting start-up founders with investors, the project whose managers can clearly present the financial status of their firm using numerical data often has a high chance of achieving success in raising capital. However, the above arguments are insufficient to overshadow the shortcomings of the topic in question. The most pertinent point is that success in business depends on other elements than numeracy. To elaborate, there are several soft skills considered to evaluate the potentiality of someone's success. In actuality, despite the heavy Math instruction in the syllabus, numerous Vietnamese graduates still fail in running their own businesses due to being short of experience as well as leadership and communication skills. Another justification is that a variety of alternative means have appeared to substitute for manual calculation and data examination capabilities. In particular, thanks to the development of computer science these days, advanced data analysis and calculation tools such as Excel are invented to replace the role of humans. Besides, enterprises should outsource financial services provided by audit firms in order to optimize capacity for other core activities and strategies of the company. To conclude, it is indisputable that Math has some applications in business administration. Even so, I think that individuals who want to be successful in business need to develop other soft skills and may seek alternatives to quantitative skills.