Some people prefer to buy local commodities, while others think that world wide products have a better quality. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many consumers around the world prefer to purchase domestic products, whilst others think that international brand names are of a better quality. I am totally convinced that supporting local industries should be encouraged. On one hand, some citizens in every country fully endorse the local commodities for an economic reason. In other words, when factories in a specific country prospers in its quantity and quality of production, this means that more manpower will be hired, and this in its turn is an economic privilege. In Egypt, for example, many consumers prefer to buy clothes made of the Egyptian cotton, and this has drastically reduced unemployment. This means that commodities, which are locally produced, will be cheaper for all citizens than their international counterparts. On the other hand, opponents have a diverse view that goods of international names have a better quality, which can serve anyone professionally. If someone applies for a job at some multinational companies, sometimes he is required to wear a brand because this may give a professional and personal impression about the candidate. According to an article published in “The Economist”, job interviews at some corporations necessitate a prestigious outfit, since candidates will present their work place in marketing or sales presentations. This article is a proof that if applicants aspire to find a vacancy in the world market, they have to buy brands. In summary, after presenting both points of view, it can be reiterated that some customers support their local industries, whereas others conceive of international brand names as professionally prestigious at work. I second/support the first view because if the industry of the country thrives, this will have a plethora of economic benefits for both manufacturers and consumers.