Some human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem while others think effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Up to this day, the negative impacts of humans on the environment are actually evident. Besides, it is also debatable whether offering solutions to overcome this phenomenon has become too late or not. From my perspective, nature is still able to be ameliorated by our timely interventions. This essay will elaborate on my belief. Perhaps for many, human beings’ destructive actions on the earth get out of control. First, in some cases, ecosystems have been severely degraded and it is almost impossible to restore them to their original state. To elaborate, the world is facing the mass extinction of numerous species due to habitat loss, which is supposed to be the result of industrialization and the greenhouse effect. Even worse, hunting also contributes to exacerbating this reality, for instance, the West African Black Rhinoceros was declared totally extinct in 2011 because many fool people believe its horns can cure some diseases. Second, there are several insolvable environmental problems that cannot be solved by an individual or even by a single country. To be specific, these include thawing due to climate change and seawater pollution from plastic waste, which damages the habitat of creatures in the Arctic and the ocean. In actuality, it is difficult for the actions of one nation or one person to have a significant impact on improving this situation. Despite the valid arguments detailed above, I still believe that it is never too late to act. The most pertinent point is that numerous animal species which are on the brink of extinction need to be protected. People still constructively influence nature to protect plants and animals through habitat reinstatement as well as breeding projects. Many successful conservation stories demonstrate that it is possible to make a difference, such as the case of humpback whales. Another justification is that macro-environmental issues can be handled by the hand of the whole world. International cooperation can help create effective global movements in retaining biodiversity through public awareness campaigns and supporting environmental policies. Thus, the efforts of individuals will be multiplied and encouraged to alleviate environmental destruction. To conclude, it is indisputable that humankind has caused a variety of harmful effects on our planet, which are irreversible or difficult to mitigate. Even so, I strongly agree with the positive view that there are a range of other parts of the world that can still be recovered if people strive to cure it.