It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, it has become quite common for high school graduates to take a break from academics before applying to a university. This essay will dive into the benefits and drawbacks of that trend. Looking at the positives, one crucial advantage of taking a gap year is that it simulates personal and skill development. This is because by having some free time without academic stress, you would be able to practice your hobbies and work on further growing your skills, thus widening your horizons. Furthermore, you would learn more about yourself and your personality, especially regarding your strengths and weaknesses, which takes me to my next point: gap years can play a vital role in your career orientation as you can have more time to discover different job paths and choose what best fits you and your personality. However, having a year off can also present some problems, the most obvious of which is time management. Although it is possible that some students might have the ability to use that time wisely, others might be overwhelmed by the amount of free time they have and get distracted by other things such as friends, movies, etc. Another significant disadvantage is finances. This is an issue because gap years are often associated with traveling abroad and being unemployed for a quite longer time than expected. This can lead to major financial difficulties, especially for low-wage households. In conclusion, while a gap year can be quite beneficial as it fosters self-development and contributes to your career decision, we should take into consideration some of its negatives, such as time scattering and potential financial difficulties.