Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Currently due to economic prosperity, travelling by air has become more and more popular. Some people hold the opinion that it should be cheap to help ordinary people have easy access to travel further. However, others argue that expensive air travel should be encouraged in order to protect the environment. I will discuss both views with some solid examples. People can travel to other countries by air, gaining insight into foreign countries and obtaining better job opportunities. Some students, for example, travel to other countries where they can be exposed to different cultures and customs and put foreign languages in context. As a result, they can improve their ability to foreign languages and have a comprehensive and deep understanding of local cultures and customs. Besides, some people may travel to other countries, and find a well-paid job. Also, some businessmen may run multinational corporations, so they need to travel frequently. If the airfare rises, they may lose these opportunities. However, the more expensive cost of air service may diminish the adverse effect of the aviation industry. People are reluctant to travel because of high prices. Thus, the number of flights will be reduced and aviation exhaust emissions like carbon dioxide will experience a decrease, improving air quality and delaying global warming. What’s more, the contamination of noise and environmental destruction caused by the construction of airports and other aviation facilities will decrease dramatically. In a nutshell, my view is that cheap air travel is more reasonable because people nowadays are under huge pressure,especially those living in big cities, so they need to have a chance to travel to other places to get away from their daily life. For example, they can visit some tropical islands to enjoy local snacks rather than stay at home. But it is necessary for aviation companies to cut down the strain on the environment through technological innovation.