In many countries, people increasingly talk about money such as how much they earn or how much they pay for things in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

One of the major issues that concern our society today is whether the fact that people talk constantly about money in their daily routine is beneficial or not. Strong arguments exist for this viewpoint, which implies that it is worth examining its perspective before reaching any conclusion. To begin with, in this day and age, especially in countries with economic crises, people care a lot about the amount of money that they spend daily. For example, when the wages are extremely low but the prices of products are high, citizens struggle to make ends meet. For this reason, I believe that their daily expenditures are important to them. Also, another reason is the competition among people. To be more precise, many individuals want to know the number of others' earnings only because of jealousy. In this way, the issue of money is always on the table. However, to my mind, this trend could have only detrimental effects on an individual's life. From the moment that people communicate so often how much they earn, subconsciously the only thing that matters to them is money. For instance, even if they have enough money to spend on their entertainment, they will not do it because they think that it is not necessary. In this way, they miss essential things from their lives, such as any kind of entertainment which can be proved beneficial for their well-being. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that people need to keep private their earnings and talk about more serious issues, like poverty and the ways through which they could help. So, people do not end up being materialistic and care only about money.