Some people think that higher institutions should concentration more on academic subjects such as history and the physical sciences, while others think that they should concentrate more on practical subjects such as car mechanics and cookery, and so on. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different points of view about which topics higher institutions should concentrate on. While some people believe that schools should emphasise academic subjects such as history and the physical sciences, I believe that it is best to concentrate on courses like mechanics or cookery. Some people believe it is better to focus on history and physical sciences because they think that can improve individuals' economic status. Hence, higher institutions emphasise these subjects which can improve their scores so they can access universities and employment positions. For example, one friend of mine obtained good scores in high school and that permitted him to study chemistry guided him to a great job, enhancing his economic status. Even though institutes think that focusing on academic subjects can improve the economic status, I strongly believe that higher institutions should focus on practical subjects because can improve their problem-solving skills. Therefore, focusing on practical topics can help you to thrive in life, being resourceful. For instance, when I moved from my parents' home I had to do the chores, shopping, cooking and more, living in my own apartment. Furthermore, my parents did not teach me any of these responsibilities. However, the university taught me how to manage everything including cooking in a cookery class. I could solve everything myself having an open mind and finding the solution I needed. To conclude, although institutes believe that focusing on academic topics will improve individuals' economic status, I personally believe that practical subjects can enhance problem-solving skills