Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources.

In modern-day society, education has become a vital aspect of every child's life. Educational facilities tend to offer a wide range of subjects aimed at educating children and teaching them various skills. Depending on the type of educational facility, a certain subject might be emphasized, yet these core subject areas are usually incorporated into nearly all educational facilities. Although it is commonly agreed that these subjects are vital for a child's educational upbringing, opinions differ when it comes to the subject of music. Whilst some believe that musical education is an important part of growing up, others believe that it should no longer be taught in schools, as it is considered a waste of time and resources. The melody falls under the area of art, causing it to often be considered less valuable than other subjects. Typically people believe that learning to express oneself in a creative manner is less important than mastering mathematical theories and scientific facts. Another point worth noting is the opponents of musical education propose that a more rationally-based education will benefit children later on in their lives, as they will be able to perceive and comprehend the logical aspects of life more easily. It is worth considering that the supporters of musical education argue that music is beneficial for children because it offers a manner of creative self-expression. Furthermore, music is part of human culture, as it brings people together and therefore children who study music can obtain a sense of cultural knowledge. Personally, I believe that music should be taught in schools and that it is not a waste of time and resources. I played the piano for seven years and believe that this has helped me become a more balanced person. It is important for a child to learn about thinking and take a break from logical subjects once in a while. All in all, music should be taught in school, because it enables children to express themselves creatively and to learn more about culture and human interaction.