Some people believe that arts such as painting and music do not improve people’s lives and therefore government should not spend money on them. Instead the government should spend money on science and technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, it is strongly believed that government funding should mainly focus on science and technology as opposed to arts and culture. Although this claim has many advocates, I strongly believe that investing more in the arts is as significant and life-changing for people. It is an undeniable fact that science and technology play important roles in society and, therefore, must attract significant funding from governments. Particularly, improvements in these areas, not only can drastically and positively change people's lives in many aspects, but also help with the overall health index and the economy. By injecting more capital into scientific and technological research, there will be a higher probability of curing diseases and introducing new innovations, which can eventually elevate the quality of human lives. Naturally, allocating more funds to these areas can certainly be a beneficial step forward. On the other hand, one cannot ignore the economic and emotional significance of arts and culture in society either. By promoting these areas through fundamental financial support, governments can attract more enthusiasts, such as tourists, both locally and internationally, which in turn can help the local and national economy. Moreover, upon taking actions to preserve the arts, such as founding more galleries, cinemas, museums, and arts centres, governments can pave the way for positively improving a nation's emotional and mental health, which can further build a stronger and more positively-minded community. As a result, investing in the arts can certainly lead to desirable outcomes for society as well. To conclude, I believe that one cannot consider this issue to be a black-and-white matter. Despite the very popular belief that allocating government funds to science and technology can be certainly important, providing financial support for the development of arts and culture will also unquestionably benefit society from multiple perspectives.