In many countries, sport and exercise classes are replaced with academic subjects. Why is it so? What are the effects on the children in their lives?

It is irrefutable that academic subjects are crucial in today's era of cut-throat competition Although there are reasons why more and more schools are axing sports and physical exercise classes for academics, I believe that this trend has a detrimental effect on children. There are many reasons why educational institutes are replacing sports and exercise classes with academic classes. Firstly, the competition today is very stiff, and students have to excel in academics to secure a seat in a good university or college. So, parents also force schools to focus more on academic subjects so that their children have a good future. The second reason why schools are focusing more on academic subjects is that they are under pressure to show better academic results to get more government funding and more student enrolment. However, the increased focus on academics and the neglect of sports and physical education have severe consequences for children. The major adverse effect is on the physical and mental health of children. Children who do not engage in physical activity are physically unfit and are more prone to diseases like obesity and diabetes later on in life. Moreover, due to excessive academic pressure and lack of participation in sports, children are stressed and their academic performance also suffers. Finally, a major benefit of sports is that students learn skills like teamwork, co-operation, discipline, sportsman spirit, punctuality etc. These skills have become the need of the hour, with the ever-growing competition in every field. By replacing sports and physical education classes with academics, schools are depriving children of developing such skills. This in turn reduces the children's ability to work and coordinate well with others during adulthood. In conclusion, although it is important for a child to succeed academically, the chances of success are increased with a balanced approach that includes sports and physical education.