Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

Some people argue that women should not be in jobs that is traditionally for men whereas others argue that both genders are equal and that women can apply for any positions they want. I agree with the statement that women should not be choosing jobs that are for men due to their physical stature and maternal responsibilities. Firstly, some women are more fragile and weaker compared to their male counterparts. There are certain jobs that require physical strength and muscle power which limits women from applying to these roles. For instance, working in building construction, mining and oil drilling can be physically taxing and demanding. This can result in injuries and accidents which can pose difficulties for women working in these environments. Hence, it requires women to be strong and physically fit to be able to withstand such harsh working conditions. Secondly, traditional male jobs are not very flexible and child friendly. It can be quite difficult for women to get emergency leave for childcare or find anyone to look after their children. For example, studies have shown that women in male dominated jobs tend to leave their jobs due to uncooperative manner and lack of flexibility from their bosses. This shows that some jobs are not suitable nor adaptable to women with maternal responsibilities. To conclude, this essay supports the idea that men and women are not equal in terms of job suitability. There are certain occupations that are unsuitable for women due to their small physique and maternal obligations.