In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Nowadays, the number of youngsters who listen to or play classical music is fewer in many. This essay will explain why this phenomenon is happening and discuss whether should teenagers be spurred to play or perform classical music. To begin with, the classical melody is more complicated/intricate and longer than other types of music / music genres. If people want to play classical music perfectly/flawlessly/excellently, they need to spend a lot of time practising and even acquiring knowledge and skills. In addition, pop music is prevalent among the young generation. For instance, if someone is good at performing pop music, they could become famous on campus, so many teenagers have the motivation to learn how to play it. In contrast, there are fewer classical music listeners nowadays, and therefore teenagers lack interest in playing it. Although few young people enjoy/appreciate classical music, we should not compel anyone to play because this is not superior to other types of music / music genres. Each type of music have its unique characteristics and can not be replaced. For example, pop music usually touches/ resonate / relate to those who have similar experiences, which classical music can not do. / Pop music, for instance, often has lyrics that resonate with listeners who have similar experiences, whereas classical music does not. Therefore, youngsters/the younger generation should have the right/freedom to choose decide what music they want to learn or listen to On the other hand, learners will not be consistent in learning if they lack motivation. Thus, the better way is to inspire young learners’ interest in classical music. In conclusion, classical music is not prevalent among teenagers due to its complicacy in playing and is unpopular. Instead of forcing them to learn classical music, they might be given the freedom to play or what music to listen to base on their preference.