Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some areas of the world, there are vehicle-free days when there is a restriction on all personal means of transportation entering the city centre in order to promote the use of public vehicles. Although this trend may bring about several adverse effects, I believe the merits exceed the demerits. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of prohibiting private vehicles in the city centre. Firstly, it is a source of myriad inconveniences for commuters who are used to travelling in their own cars or motorbikes. In fact, travellers ought to walk from the bus or subway stations to their destinations, which is struggling for those who wear inappropriate outfits. For example, female officers often use high heels when going to work, resulting in foot pain or ankle twist if they have to walk long distances. Secondly, this regulation causes a threat to the automobile industry in those nations. As the number of folks using public transportation levels off, there may be a decline in car sales. On the other hand, supporters of this law advocate that they enormously benefit from it. Initially, travelling by buses or subways encourages citizens to do more physical activities and strengthens community bonds. It is obvious that the more kinesthetic exercise the dwellers do, the healthier they are. Also, there are chances for strangers to befriend others and form intimate relationships. For instance, thanks to travelling by bus, my best friend successfully found her current husband. One more advantage of banning personal cars or motorcycles is the reduction of traffic congestion. In big cities such as Beijing or Ho Chi Minh, car users often experience rage when being stuck in terrible traffic jams for hours. Therefore, reducing the number of vehicles moving into well-trodden areas are efficient at improving people's health and emotion. To conclude, it is undeniable that the cons of restricting private transportation seem pale in comparison with their pros. In my opinion, other Governments should take applying this rule into consideration for the sake of the people living there.