In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In today’s world, there are a significant number of opportunities for the young to do after graduation from school. In this period of time, some people prefer having a gap year to travel and work instead of going to university immediately. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of having a gap year and provide a logical conclusion. The two main benefits of a gap year are the possibility to have a rest after school and having the time to decide the main occupation in life. Firstly, when pupils graduate from educational establishments they are exhausted by the final exams and just desire to unwind. Thus, it is quite important to have a certain time to relax and spend time on pleasant hobbies, travel or even start to work to earn money for college. Secondly, a vast proportion of individuals don’t fully understand what they want to do during their life. Hence, this time will support them to designate a certain occupation to find a suitable job in the future. For example, China has special courses for students to help them determine their future professions by visiting different companies and factories. On the other hand, it also has certain drawbacks such as the loss of a year that a person could spend at university and spending that time inappropriately. First of all, when a person decided to have a gap year they should realize that a lot of other people could go to the university straight away. Therefore, it means that it will be more complicated to compete with individuals who started studying earlier at educational institutes. What is more, usually, the young can interpret a gap year as a vacation and lose this period by playing computer games and having parties. For instance, recent studies have shown that a vast majority of teenagers choose a gap year to have fun and parties which can’t help to find a major at all. To conclude, although a gap year has certain downsides such as competition factors and a loss of time if people use that inappropriately, it has great upsides like an opportunity to find the main field of life and time to relax, travel and start working.