Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30’s. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Across the world, the accommodation has become unaffordable. Because of this, young adults are pushed to move in with their parents as housing prices have become prohibitively expensive. Although in most cases it is positive, this essay will discuss how this trend is affecting negatively. This sudden transition can affect parents as well as children positively. Firstly, based on a parent’s perspective it is a lot of help both financially as well as physically. Instead of dealing with all the work and everyday chores alone, now you have your children offering a hand with everything rather than doing it all alone. Second of all, based on your children ’s viewpoint they can support themselves financially. This means that instead of spending all the money on loans and other pay cheques you can now save all the money you have to buy a house in the future. This concludes that it becomes beneficial to both parties. However, this development has its disadvantages that outweigh the advantages. The first point that I would like to outline is cost. As more and more people join the house, the more expensive it becomes for electricity, water and other utilities. Even though children contribute to the expense, it is still a huge expenditure for parents who are retired or planning to retire. Secondly, is the concern for their children still being dependent? This can be worrisome for most parents living in Canada and America as children move out of their parent's homes as a sign of independence resulting in a big relief for their fathers and mothers. In conclusion, children tend to move back home to cut costs but they become more comfortable and stay longer. This thereby results in more problems and costs for their homemakers