Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays everyone doing shopping has the chance to buy products coming from other countries in spite of purchasing goods that are locally sourced. This essay will discuss the main reasons why supermarket entities choose to sell products imported more than local food and then describe two positive effects of this behavior. In my opinion, the foremost causes of this choice are the cost reduction and the increasing capacity of capture new clients. Today, many factories around the world make primary commodities at a very low cost of production and a lot of supermarkets can buy these goods spending much less money than doing same thing by the local vendors. Supermarkets take also the advantage of selling products that have not been produced locally, in other terms they offer a much more variety of goods to consumers of different cultures. The possible effects of this sort of entrepreneur behavior are having, as a consumer, a richer and more balanced diet and, for sure, spending less money when I do shopping. First of all, every time I go to the supermarket I have the beautiful possibility to buy products both locally sourced and imported from other countries and decide, day by day, to balance the diet of my family. Secondly, I gladly figured out that, over the last years, plenty of goods have been decreased their cost due to the market competition. To sum up, I think cost reduction and the chance to capture new clients are the main reasons to explain the choice of supermarkets to sell more imported products than local ones. That results in product price decrease also for consumers and have the opportunity to enhance and balance our diet.