Individuals can do nothing to improve society. Only governments can make a difference. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Individuals can do nothing to improve society. Only governments can make a difference. What extent do you agree or disagree? Some argued that only governments could implement policies and promote new developments, while individuals can do nothing but rely on them. Personally, I disagree with this statement, it is because even though most people are just civilians it does not mean they have no power to influence the policies making and change society. Many advancements in recent years are promoted by ordinary people. To be more specific, individuals have made significant efforts in various industries, such as science, medicine or the environment. For example, Apple’s founder, Steve Jacobs with his partner worked in a garage to develop new techniques, additionally, established the company which is now one of the most popular enterprises, besides promoting the touch-screen devices to the world and starting up a new technological era. In addition, individuals could force the government to make improvements. They may disagree with policies and decide to stand up and influence people, like holding up speeches or participating in strikes or protests. Moreover, press the government to revise laws and regulations. For instance, a historical person- Mr Cheng in Taiwan, burned himself to address his belief in human speaking rights, this move provoked people ’s anger to the government, forced them to focus on people ’s needs and adjusted the policies of freedom. In conclusion, individuals have the power to advance this world by engaging in different areas and fulfilling their potential. Furthermore, people could also raise the awareness of issues which are overlooked or underestimated by governments, ultimately, influencing their decisions to elevate the world.