what are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet

Caring for another person is not a simple task, it requires patience, accountability and love. That could also be applied to having a home animal. It could be challenging with demerits for a plethora of reasons, but at the same time it has great benefits for both humankind and animals, and both will be explicitly stated. On one hand, most home pets are kind types of animals, they are able to express their emotions towards us humans, and they care about their owner. Furthermore, a lot of studies have shown that they are of great benefit to mental health, if a person has a dog for instance, he would go for a walk almost daily and that helps to decrease their susceptibility to depression and mental illnesses, moreover, taking care of other creatures has been proven to improve the sense of responsibility of children who have pets, they are taught to be accountable and responsible for one another which is noteworthy and of significance. On the other hand, It comes with multiple burdens for some, especially the financial burden, since having another creature at home costs similar to having a baby nowadays, therefore, it is considered a privilege to be able to pay for them, also, since they are not independent, they consume time for their daily activities; feeding them, walking them and other things, and the most crucial part is their medical checkups, animals have the tendency for spreading various types of diseases and they need regular checkups and vaccines, therefore some think they are not worth having. To conclude, having a pet,not only, would help people navigate their emotions and children to be accountable, but also, affect their mental health positively, while might think because of the high cost of living and the limited amount of time that they have, it is of demerits for them.