Some people argue that flights around the world should be reduced dramatically in order to help prevent climate change. Supporters of this idea claim that people should switch to using trains or public transport. Do you believe this is a good solution?

Many individuals have concerns regarding the risks carried by aeroplane travelling on the environment and they request to decrease the number of flights globally. While their concerns are valid and understandable, I think there is another point of view that can not be ignored. I think cutting down the number of flights would significantly affect the work and life of many people. The majority of people use aeroplanes as the main means of transportation for work, business and tourism. For example, in Saudi Arabia, a lot of my friends work in a different city than their hometown and they use aeroplane travelling to visit their families on a regular basis as it is the most suitable and available way of transportation. This might not be applicable in another country, for example, Japan, where the infrastructure provides an alternative like bullet trains which are as comfortable and fast as an airplane. Furthermore, while governments can consider reducing the number of domestic flights where there are other options like trains, there are not many other attractive solutions for international flights. That being said, aeroplane travelling contributes to the issue of global warming and climate change which eventually would affect all populations on Earth. I think organizations and activists should think of more innovative solutions like using a type of fuel that does not impose the same risk on the environment. In conclusion, I believe decreasing the number of flights would have a major impact on people's lives, and the effect on climate change should be addressed in a different way like for example using environment-friendly fuel.