Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays some professionals say that students in elementary school should start learning a second language rather than in high school. This essay will discuss about this topic and prove that there are more merits than demerits. To begin with, to learn language earlier is more efficient to develop the student's language skill. Furthermore, according to the research regarding human brain, learning language in younger age affects more basic part of brain because it is under development, especially speaking and listening abilities. For instance, as a matter of fact, my friends who started studying English in primary school has better pronounciation and listening skill than people who began studying English at secondary school. There is a big gap between people who learnt in primary school and in secondary school. Therefore, learning language earlier, especially in elementary school has advantage. On the other hand, learning something additional reduces opportunities to study another subject. In particular, the students might miss chances or not be able to focus on learning their national language. For example, in my country, some researchers say that the abilities of using Japanese language weaker and weaker in younger generation due to focusing on sparing thier time for learning English. Hence, there are some unovidable disadvantage to learn freign language as second language. To conclude, learning foreign language in early age has great advantage for young people's language development. However, the students might have to decrease their time or lose their opportunities to learn another subject such as their national language.