Some people say that the amount of noise that people make should be strictly controlled. Others say that people should be free to make as much noise as they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people believe that making noise is something that should be restricted. However, other sectors of society think that noise is part of life and there is nothing wrong with it. In this essay, I will analyse this subject considering both points of view from my own knowledge and experience. Firstly, it cannot be disputed that a city is noisier than, for example, small towns or even the countryside. But what is the limit? Noise is something common in urban areas: there are cars, machines, building constructions, people walking around and talking at the same time, etcetera. Nevertheless, it is true that many times noise can also be disturbing, like the house parties in a residential neighbourhood late in the night on a working day. In these cases, turns out that it is essential to establish some rules in the community, avoiding bothering or interfering with other's people lives. On the other hand, if noise is part of our life and there is nothing wrong with it, then we would be allowed to make any kind of noise indiscriminately. For example, in the same case of the house party, the neighbours would not sleep in all night because of the loud music and chattering, causing stress and handover for the next morning. In this situation it is clear that is not fair for the rest of the people who respect the expected time frame for sleeping and resting quietly. In conclusion, even if there exists freedom in humanity, personal freedom finishes where the other's person starts, which means that it is necessary that society agree to respect each other acting with empathy. In this sense, the compliment of certain social norms by people should be mandatory and this would include being quiet in specific moments of the day and places.