People say that a child’s success is dependent on the way parents bring them up. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Parents are rightly regarded as a child's "pillars of support", for without their endless guidance, we would fail to power through the ups and downs of our lives and successfully reach a set goal. This vision has now sparked some debate on whether the success of a kid is entirely attributed to their parents ' upbringing of them. Although children's nurturing plays a key role in imparting values that are instrumental in their strive to success, I partly disagree that it would be the sole contributor, as the child's own hard work too is to be accounted for too. On the one hand, the way parents raise their children largely factors into developing good values that are quintessential of a successful person. For example, we have been told for years by our parents that being a good human is the first step to becoming accomplished in life, and that happens by learning to be humble, responsible, kind, and more. Parents thus gear their actions and efforts towards leading by example, with a view that children would follow in their footsteps to retain the same traditional values once they grow up, which would help them establish themselves successfully in life. Many studies also report that the most successful people owe their success to their parents ' support and upbringing. On the other hand, a juvenile's own hard work that is invested into achieving their goals too deserves credit. As the phrase goes, "you can bring the horse to the well, but you can't make it drink the water", parents too can only do their best in inculcating principles and providing the appropriate resources that will prepare their child to strive for excellence. However, the effort and the work need to be put in by the youngsters themselves. For instance, a mother who is an engineer can at most only provide constant encouragement and guidance to a child who also wants to pursue engineering, but it is the child who needs to absorb the guidance well and excel in the entrance exams to successfully secure a seat in the engineering schools. In conclusion, after analysing the reasons above, I can only partly agree that a child's success is dependent on their upbringing since it's not only the latter that matters but also the endeavours of the child themselves, for which mostly they themselves are to be credited.