As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, there has been a statement that the internet has become more favourable, whereas newspapers are less consumed by society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view as many people prefer to read news from their gadgets rather than paper. The Internet has the advantage of vast and actual information with free charges. As we know currently the majority of the public has smartphones equipped with the internet, which enables them to get the latest information on any aspect, such as politics, entertainment, or even sports. The article usually comes out directly after the event happens and provides a freshness of content. Moreover, there are many channels that write the same topic, we can choose our channel preferences, whether it is BBC or CNN with no extra money. All of those pieces of information are free as long as we connect to the internet. This practicality and easiness will start to completely bury the popularity of newspapers in the future. On the other hand, some people tend to buy newspapers, especially the elderly. It happens because of the lack of familiarity of this generation with technology. However, we surely could tackle this problem by a constant introduction of the internet to the old people. There have been many of them who are able to operate gadgets for a video call with their grandson, it is safe to say that mastering on internet is just a problem of time. Other than that, some of the cities also already stopped the distribution of newspapers because of the costs. The publishers have to pay the workers to only distribute the paper and it takes a lot of time for the production process. For instance, my grandmother ever said that in her isolated city, the newspaper boy came one day after the actual date. This is in contrast with what the internet offers to us, which is updated information. In conclusion, I believe that Internet will replace the existence of newspapers as the main source of news in the near future. This happens due to the benefits given by the internet are beyond the newspapers in terms of actuality, price, and media options.