Nowadays, there is a trend that the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree?

It is true that we now live in a world that is flooded with negative news about various problems and emergencies on a daily basis. People argue that this type of media orientation can be detrimental to our physical and psychological condition, and even to our society. In my opinion, a balance should be found between reporting positive news and despairing news. On the one hand, I agree that problems and emergencies do need to be reported, as it is one of our most fundamental rights to be informed about what is happening around the world, for example, natural disasters, wars, crimes and so on. When we are able to be exposed to these issues in a relatively appropriate way, they can provoke some introspection. We start by seeing the dark side of the world and realising what is wrong, and then we can contemplate the true meaning of life and reflect deeply on ourselves. However, we cannot deny that the overwhelming amount of such information makes people despair about human nature. People may judge themselves as useless because they ignore their self-efficacy. There is nothing they can contribute to society and the planet they live on. Therefore, I believe that the media should focus more on the virtues of humanity. Take natural disasters as an example. Not only should the magnitude of the disaster be reported, but volunteers who devote themselves to reconstruction should be highly praised and advocated. It is the responsibility of the media to give hope to all kinds of audiences and encourage them to do whatever they can to make our world a better place. In conclusion, bad news should be published and made known to the public, while the powerful impact of positive info should not be trivialised.