More and more business meetings and business training have taken place on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the explosion of technological advancement, many companies nowadays choose to conduct meetings as well as training courses online, instead of going to the office. From my point of view, the demerits of this trend have outweighed the positive effects. The following essay would help to strengthen my point. To begin with, though it is considered to be more convenient, individuals can be easily distracted while attending online meetings and training courses. This is due to the fact that people have to use their personal devices to attend these virtual sessions, thus they also have access to other applications such as games and social media platforms, causing them to lose focus on important details that are discussed. For example, a person can play video games on his computer while being in a class provided by the company, thus missing out the crucial information such as how to operate the newly designed website. Moreover, virtual conferences and business training mean that employees cannot develop soft skills such as communication skills and teamwork skills. This is because while attending meetings via the Internet, people can only communicate through the computer screen, and since a lot of young adults choose to turn off their cameras and stay silent, the conversation could be less effective compared to its offline counterpart. Taking an online training class as an example, many people would mute their microphones and shut their cameras down, merely attending without contributing anything or commuting with their colleagues. In long term, this will reduce the productivity of the company. In conclusion, although there could be some advantages to online sessions such as it can save time and can be more convenient sometimes, those are overshadowed by the negative effects it has on human life, namely the distraction and coworkers cannot develop teamwork and communication skills.