Some people think it does not matter if a professional sportsman or sportswoman misbehaves on or off the field, as long as they play well. What is your opinion about this?

In recent decades, professional athletes often misbehave in a stadium or a public space. Whether their misbehaviours based on high-performance records should be understood or not has been hotly debated among people. I strongly agree with the view that professional athletes must behave well as they are being watched by numerous individuals, including children. This essay will discuss this issue by using examples to support ideas and demonstrate points. On the one hand, as professional athletes are generally most teenagers’ role models, their misbehaviours will bring negative effects on children’s growth by allowing them to mimic the actions. In addition, misbehaviours during a field can affect social conflicts between nations. For example, one of Japanese players stimulated South Korea’s anger by showing up a red flag which was disrespectful to them during a football game, and it became international tension between the two nations. Therefore, it is critical for them to behave well which is regarded as professionalism. On the other hand, some people worry about a tendency in which their misbehaviours ought to be acceptable and understandable because of their social contribution such as economic growth or donations. Furthermore, it is just a mere performance in order to sustain their own popularity by attracting their fans with strong actions. For instance, if they perform well by winning a game, their own and the nation’s fame will be enhanced with a winning prize which somehow will be returned to a community as social responsibility. Therefore, their misbehaviours can be accepted as performances if they are not illegal. In conclusion, even though they play well, they have to become an example by behaving well due to their negative impacts in society.