In many countries, people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. what are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Individuals in many nations have started buying single-use items more often and this could have some serious implications for our planet. This essay recognises that the "throwaway" tradition developed by societies in some countries is a result of companies producing more disposable products and our community's negligence towards the effects of embracing such a culture. It then attempts to highlight the main implications of this practice- wastage of resources and harmful environmental impacts. The main causes of the throwaway society are attributed to the rising production of single-use items by companies and society's obliviousness towards its impacts. The use-and-throw culture has slowly infiltrated our society and established itself as a social trend. For example, ever since plastic has been invented, companies like Coca-Cola sell their drinks in disposable plastic bottles which are designed so attractively that they find increasing uses in parties and social gatherings. People also find it irresistible to jump onto the bandwagon and buy such products instead of wisely choosing their recyclable counterparts because this generation has developed the ignorant mentality that they would rather have shiny and colourful plastic bottles gracing their gatherings instead of the more environment-friendly glass bottles. The development of the throwaway culture has thus inevitably led to problems, which mainly include high wastage of resources and global pollution. Most productions require resources often borrowed from nature. Due to most things being treated like fast fashion, industries need to constantly procure a large number of raw materials for their production processes to keep up with the global demand. Moreover, the expeditious rate at which these products are disposed of suggests that non-biodegradable waste like plastic is constantly accumulating in the environment, polluting it. To incinerate these would also produce a significant amount of carbon footprint, pushing the world one step closer to global warming. For example, a report has recorded that Scottish households consume 130 kg of grocery packaging, which generates 650,000 tonnes of global production emissions. In conclusion, a throwaway society is caused primarily by the mass production of disposables by companies and people's ignorant consumption of such products, which in turn leads to larger problems like global pollution and resource wastage.