Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

To demonstrate one's wealth and upgrade their social standing, most people often spend exorbitant sums of money on major events such as weddings. Nevertheless, this development has a detrimental effect on the financial conditions of many families and leads to food waste. There are two primary reasons why many individuals are willing to spend a considerable amount of money on preparing lavish weddings. The first element of this propensity is the desire to showcase one's affluence. It is undeniable that the majority of people have a greater sense of pride and contentment when others express admiration for their material possessions and the money allocated for lavish weddings. In addition, a family's social position is often determined by how they plan their children's weddings in modern society. Therefore, if the party is grand and magnificent, the host's social status will be significantly upgraded. Consequently, there would be a rise in the number of families trying to organize the most sumptuous weddings possible. It is undeniable that lavish weddings are detrimental for a number of reasons related to the unnecessary waste of money and other resources. Chief among these is that many families make an effort to demonstrate their financial abundance, which forces them to spend an excessive amount of funds on such extravagant parties. As a consequence, these individuals may live in a period of debt or struggle to make up the money spent on those luxurious events. The second concern is that an enormous quantity of resources, such as food and flowers, would be wasted. For example, if a restaurant hosts a wedding, it is apparent that a large number of leftovers are discarded after the event is over because they cannot be reused. In conclusion, even though the tendency of organizing costly marriages as a means of demonstrating a person's opulence and promoting their social status, I hold the belief that this can lead to a range of adverse effects on people's financial conditions as well as other resources.