Some say that sports play an important role in society.Others, however, think that is nothing more that a leisure activity.

Sport as an inseparable part of our life has brought the dispute of which is either a hobby for free time or a crucial activity on a daily basis. In this essay, I will argue both views. On the one hand, nobody can deny that sport is a great enjoyable action. Millions of people all around the world participate in sporting activities every day simply because of the sense of well-being and relaxation that it brings them. People play sports for numerous reasons, including, wanting to get fit or stay in shape, as a way to relax and take their mind off the stresses of daily life, and as a way to socialize and spend time with friends. These reasons would indicate that people get involved in sporting activities as a form of leisure. On the other hand, sports, whether done individually or collectively, instil happiness and well-being in society, leading to a decline in health costs which benefits governments. Also, a society with mental and physical wholesome is not only more productive and innovative in the workplace but also can gain knowledge more effectively. Moreover, participating in sports can ameliorate interpersonal skills too. Consequently, people can flourish in their communities. I, personally, believe these are compelling reasons why sports should be followed as an essential activity in society. In conclusion, even though people may only participate in sport for the purpose of fun, it does also bring a number of important benefits to societies as well that put an emphasis on this beneficial activity.