Some people think that the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others believe that it is a waste of money since people can access the Internet at home to obtain information. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Libraries play a vital role in our society since storing numerous knowledge and information. Regarding whether the governments should construct free libraries, some people believe that free libraries should cover every corner of the country, however, other people think that doing such projects is meaningless and wasting funding because the real libraries would be replaced by the Internet. In my opinion, the government should build free libraries but could lay out a more economical plan such as launching both real and electronic libraries in a collaborative way. The government's establishment of free libraries in every town would be a valuable service for the people. As not everyone has access to resources for learning, entertainment, and personal development, therefore, it is extraordinary that free libraries would provide convenient access to these resources for people who may not have been able to afford them otherwise. This could lead to better opportunities and quality of life for those who previously did not have the means to access these resources. Furthermore, free libraries would ensure a wide coverage of the population, particularly for people who live in remote or underserved areas. By establishing libraries in every town, the government can help bridge the educational and opportunity gap between different regions and demographics, thus promoting equal opportunities for all members of society. On the other hand, some people believe that building free libraries is a waste of money, not only because of the high cost of the expense but also for the wide use of the internet, which enables people to get informed conveniently regardless of where they are. Especially in such an era when social media have been becoming strong and popular, which makes knowledge sharing become the reality. For example, people can pay for everything they want to learn on Reddit, Twitter, and online classes platforms, or just learn for free in terms of hot fields such as second language learning and programming languages. Therefore, it’s not strange that so many people hold the belief that real libraries would fade out and be replaced by the Internet. In my opinion, by allowing a real environment and letting people put all their senses into knowledge, building libraries still has its unique function that the Internet cannot replace, which is why the government still need to spend money on real libraries. For example, libraries can set up some activities like a reading corner to encourage people on exchanging ideas about what they think about the books they have read, or invite some famous writers to host interviews and physically talk with readers. Overall, when it comes to building free libraries, more effective and practical policies should be laid out, not only building more free libraries but also taking control of how many are. But one thing has cleared up, libraries have been playing an important role in improving social well-being now or over time, which cannot be replaced by the Internet.