Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this? (0226)

As it is clearly observed that these days, many people living in modern society do not know their nearest neighbors. There are many underlying reasons why this phenomenon happened, and several methods can be solutions for this happen. By all accounts, many people don’t tend to be interested in other people for many reasons. To begin with, families have become nuclear families, it makes people have individualism because people couldn’t learn the value and culture of living together from the big family. On top of that, people become tired when they make neighbors because the tendency for frequent relocations to other places, which have a lot of infrastructure for many reasons like educational purposes, is increasing compared to the past. As a consequence, with increasing individualism and frequent moving, people have less interest in nearest people. According to research by the government of South Korea, many young generations show the low interest in their neighborhood compared to older generations. With all due consideration, there are many ways to make people become interested in their neighborhood. First and foremost, local community groups should help people to activate their interaction by providing a space to gather neighbors. For example, making a space in a local community to share their own talent freely can lead to having interest and interacting with neighbors. In addition, making a community group caring for their children and sharing the educational information with other neighbors can raise their interest for the neighborhood. Last but not least, if the government hosts an event regularly for gathering local people, it can help to raise the chance of having interest in local society by meeting periodically. In conclusion, it is clear that many people have become less interested in their neighbors because of several reasons, and there are diverse solutions to solve this phenomenon.