Goverments investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Goverments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In this current world, some people tend to believe that governments should spend more money on public utilities than on the arts, while others think otherwise. From my perspective, there are truths for both views. The following paragraphs will clarify my stance. Firstly, the authorities have allocated some of the state budget to fund creative activities, whether to support musicians or to subsidise theatre. This action has had several benefits, like the rapid growth in the music industry and the development of show business. When this musical business grows and this performance production develops, society will benefit. For instance, job vacancies will be more available, because those kinds of industries will need to involve a huge number of people. Citizens will also have access to better art performances, supplying them with numerous entertainments. Therefore, the state's involvement in this sector will benefit people. Secondly, however, governments should be concerned with the better availability of public services. Since these items are basic human needs, they should be well provided. To do this, authorities should budget some money for them. For example, by providing good health facilities, the state will support its people to have better health access. Moreover, by letting individuals have the opportunity to use fine public transports or high-quality education, the state will improve its citizens' quality of life. Thus, spending money on public facilities is also quite pivotal. On balance, since funding for the arts and providing public access are significant things to do, it is pretty difficult to make a conclusion, whether I agree or disagree.